Hiking trails / delayed chess set / Betty / too much radio / new printer

Looks like I might have another in-person over-the-board chess game this coming week! My friend Michael messaged me last night to see if I’m available Monday. Yes! When? And speaking of The Game of Kings, I got a notification yesterday that the regulation tournament chess set I ordered on January 29 “may be lost.” Last time the package was scanned, days ago, it was in West Jordan, Utah. It may be that the Pineapple Express rainstorms in California caused a big backup in the delivery system. I could request a refund and re-order, but if it does show up, I don’t want to deal with returning it. So I shall wait awhile longer.

Ice storm memories are fading into the past, and several of our favorite hiking trails have opened back up, but Buford Park/Mt. Pisgah is still closed and may be “for months,” I’ve read. Today is a big national sporting/trash culture event on TV, so we’re thinking that we’ll hike and perhaps encounter very few other humans out there. We’ll see!

Betty is continuing to integrate nicely into our household. Far fewer incidents of violence, and even some calm periods when she and the other cats are peacefully coexisting in fairly close proximity.

I kind of over-radio’d myself last week, many many hours on the air transmitting and listening to other Mixcloud stations. I think I’ll be much more chill this week and stay off the air mostly.

Totally enjoying our new (as of December) fancy inkjet printer. Looking back through blog posts, perhaps I’ve not mentioned it yet? It’s an Epson ET-8550 “lab quality” “tank” printer. No cartridges! You refill its SIX color ink tanks from bottles. In addition to regular cyan, yellow, magenta, and black, this one also has “photo black” and gray. I’ve printed many dozens of photos, and the tanks are only down about 30% if that. We bought an extra set of ink bottles when we got the printer, but at this rate I might not have to use them until next year! It’s just sipping ink. I’ve been printing out my Lightroom-processed photos on 4×6” glossy paper, and they are turning out great! Really nice to have a stack of physical photographs to look through, to show visiting friends, and to include with letters.

Thus concludes this report. Thanks for reading, and Happy Year of the Wood Dragon!

Leave a comment